Confused at a higher level

The view from Carleton College's physics department

  • Archives

  • Stats

    var sc_project=3293756; var sc_invisible=0; var sc_partition=21; var sc_security="d61881ba";
    free hit
counter
  • Subscribe

  • Recent Posts

  • Follow me on Twitter

Old Friends New Territory

Posted by Arjendu on October 27, 2014

So I am currently at Quantum Optics VII a formerly Latin American Quantum Optics conference that currently is about 1/2 not Latin American and mostly not about Quantum Optics (though it is about quantum mechanics, which is is how I landed up here, invited to give a talk about my recent work).

This conference is organized by, among others, Juan Pablo Paz, who I’ve known for a long time, but met only a few times, and so it’s been nice to see him, and catch up even if briefly as well as with other people I’ve gotten to know from conferences and talks over the years like Andre Carvalho, Carlos Pineda, Martin Plenio … and I know Aephraim Steinberg is around, so all that should be fun as well. This is also my first trip to South America (though so far I’ve barely seen anything particularly given the generic nature of airports and hotels of a certain kind) and it’s my first time pretending to be a quantum optician.

So. The usual term-time conference stuff: Tired trying to get things set up so I could leave for a bit, and from the long long haul here, somewhat — make that very — nervous about my own talk, looking forward to immersing myself in ‘state of the art in quantum mechanics’ after a few months hiatus, and trying to stay caught up on professional and personal emails in the post-conference evenings. But it was hard to resist the invitation, and I am glad I’m here.

Leave a Reply

 
