Confused at a higher level

The view from Carleton College's physics department

  • Archives

  • Stats

    var sc_project=3293756; var sc_invisible=0; var sc_partition=21; var sc_security="d61881ba";
    free hit
counter
  • Subscribe

  • Recent Posts

  • Follow me on Twitter

Back to TO

Posted by Arjendu on January 26, 2014

I spent my post-doctoral years in Toronto, a city I grew to love greatly by the time I left for my job at Rice University.

I’ve been lucky enough to maintain contact over the years with my former adviser Paul Brumer, who I thought was a very ‘senior’ person by the time I joined his group, but was probably younger then than I am now, and who incidentally did his own Ph.D. under one of this year’s Nobel Prize winners (Martin Karplus). The contact has been mostly pretty sporadic and casual, but once in a while I run into him at a conference and we have a great conversation about current ideas and then we wonder why we don’t get together to talk more often.

This being sabbatical year, with fewer excuses, but still plenty of parental constraint et al, a visit was possible, and I’m off to speak there next week. The last time I visited was 2010; the research story has progressed just about enough since then for me to have something new and fun to say, but I have to say I *am* nervous about going in front of some people I really like and respect a lot to tell my new story. But it’s also why I am looking forward to it — I’ve been thinking in a very focused matter about recent results, have cleaned up my data and understanding, and look forward to feedback (and all that’s just the talk). There’s also the week of conversations with whoever’s available, and with any luck some good meals in Toronto with colleagues/friends.

Leave a Reply

 
