Confused at a higher level

The view from Carleton College's physics department

  • Archives

  • Stats

    var sc_project=3293756; var sc_invisible=0; var sc_partition=21; var sc_security="d61881ba";
    free hit
counter
  • Subscribe

  • Recent Posts

  • Follow me on Twitter

KITP

Posted by Arjendu on March 1, 2013

KITP

The brownish building on the left is Kohn Hall, which hosts the Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics at the University of California, Santa Barbara. This week, I’ve been spending hours in a darkened room in there, trying my best to keep up with the talks at the workshop on ‘Quantum Control on Complex Landscapes’ going on there. I have also been trying to keep up with my ‘other/real’ job of Associate Dean, staying up late or waking up obnoxiously early in my hotel room. Lunch has been spent with other workshoppers, including my post-doc adviser and one former undergraduate student, clarifying something we’ve been hearing about, arguing about quantum mechanics in general, or just catching up with each other. Every once in a while I get 1/2 hour for a short walk.

I’ve been to KITP a handful of times before, and was a KITP scholar early in my time at Carleton; it’s also where I helped hatch the Anacapa Society. It’s one of my favorite places in the world to do physics. And not just because it’s in a gorgeous location: I love the feel and flavor of how it’s set up, encouraging conversations, collaborations, community.

Leave a Reply

 
